Poiesis Life Collection: Recovering

“Contemplating Earth and Sea” Phone Photo, DS 

[The philosopher] Heidegger referred to poiesis as a “bringing-forth”, or physis as emergence. Examples of poiesis are the blooming of the blossom, the coming-out of a butterfly from a cocoon, and the plummeting of a waterfall when the snow begins to melt; the last two analogies underline Heidegger’s example of a threshold occasion, a moment of ecstasis when something moves away from its standing as one thing to become another. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poiesis#Overview

Recovering

I am a recovering know-it-all

Before that I was self-righteous

Prior to that I was a 

Miss Goody-Two-Shoes

A first-born sibling

A mother of three

No four

Now I realize I

Have two left feet a

Collaged ego

I only hang out with those

Who are better and know

More than me

In some way

Always. 

Leave a comment