Poiesis Life Collection: The One I Love

“Two Bees” Phone Photo DS

Years ago, I painted a large self-portrait of a girl standing in her back yard with argyle-style grass. She wore one of my favourite childhood dresses, white, smocked, with tiny turquoise, pink, violet, diamond shapes all over. In her hand she held a posy of sweet peas; her gift to the world. Perhaps these posts are like sweet peas, small, fragrant, pale pink and aubergine, with green leaves and swirls going upward to the light.

Then I came across the word, poiesis, the blooming of a blossom. These words from my experience and from others would convey the hope of blooming, even of planting seeds of hope to bloom later in this time of post pandemic. Yes, my poems are what I have to offer the world, the poieses  (meaning: production, formation) of life collected here.

. . .

The One I Love

The one I love

Is a fast spider killer

Chops vegetables finely

Reads in bed nightly

Shovels snow brightly

Listens without interruption

Drives a Benz with no instruction

Gardens saying do I have to

Not too macho

He makes the bed

Bakes bee sting cakes

Wakes before dawn

Without putting the light on

Works for fun

Laughs when down

Wears a crown

For me.

Leave a comment